Back to product details

Ratings and Reviews of Humanure Handbook 4th Ed.


Score: 5.00 (votes: 8)
Reviews: 8
8
Score: 5.00 (votes: 8)
Reviews: 8
 
Rating of votes (8)
5
 
8customers
4
 
 
0customers
3
 
 
0customers
2
 
 
0customers
1
 
 
0customers
 
Customer reviews
Please sign in to add review
  • Lorne Carignan
    Nov 1, 2022, 02:47 PM
    Thank you for your Humanure Handbook. I built my first "loo" in 2003 after buying the 2nd edition of your book. At that time, I was single and had a house to myself, so I made my maiden deposit in a five-gallon bucket sitting in my carpeted living room while watching CNN.

    After getting married a couple of years later, I relocated my toilet to the shed outdoors, as my wife had "phobic" tendencies. That got discontinued when I converted the shed to a chicken coop for a few years and never resumed it afterward. Now, however, almost 20 years later, I've purchased the 4th edition of your book and that inspired me to give it another go, so to speak. I dusted off my compost collecting toilet (Collecto-Let?) and set it up in my home-built camper that sits in the driveway. Every morning I make a discreet visit to my camper for a few minutes to "pray and meditate." For convenience, I keep a plastic jug indoors for urine, which I pour into the toilet when the jug gets full. I've found the liquid helps keep the bucket contents level.

    I drove 30 miles to get three 20-gallon tubs of sawdust from a sawmill, and they were very stingy about it. Apparently, they already have a market for it. So, I'll need to use something else when that's gone. Since leaves are plentiful here, I'll probably use leaf mould. I have my compost bin up and running, and I'm happy to say that my pile was at 124 this morning, after adding a bucket of material, food scraps, and a half gallon of spoiled apple cider over the weekend.

    Anyway, again, I appreciate your taking the time to write that book, and I think very highly of your efforts at helping the less fortunate around the world with their sanitation problems. As a Christian who believe in invisible beings, I think that's a very noble thing for you to do!
  • Benjamin Stookesberry
    Oct 21, 2022, 02:57 PM
    This book has forever changed my perspective on life and human poop. Thank you!
  • Wayne Andrews
    Jul 24, 2022, 06:59 PM
    Jim Phillips recommended it. He teaches people how to prepare for a time when our grid goes down and the city sanitation system is gone. https://www.jimsway.com/ https://www.youtube.com/user/SafeHarborAlliance/videos
  • Anthea Poole
    Jul 1, 2022, 11:29 AM
    I found this book in the library but the info is so valuable I bought the digital copy, and may get the hardcopy when funds allow. GREAT book!
  • Scott Andrade
    Jun 26, 2022, 12:41 PM
    This book shares solid information: although does not include any "how-to" steps to take and actually create Humanure. Great telling of history. I am looking forward to the publishing of "How to Convert Human Waste..."
    Slate Roof Warehouse
    Jun 29, 2022, 04:10 PM
    We are confused at this review because we feel there is a lot of "how-to" in this book. It is a book solely about how to convert humanure.
  • Patrick McKenna
    Jun 22, 2022, 09:54 AM
    Thanks for writing such a great book! I’m a family doctor up in northern Wisconsin, and have started humanure composting. It is really amazing, and I would not have felt confident in doing it without your really comprehensive and informative book. It really is a transformational book, I tell everyone I know that they should read it!
  • Iris Jones
    Jun 8, 2021, 08:12 PM
    When our septic system became flooded more than 10 years ago, our family of 8 went 48 hours without being able to flush. It was an experience that inspired me to find other alternatives to that little lever. I found Joseph Jenkins and The Humanure Handbook online. The next rainy season when the septic went out, I was almost ready. By the following year, what was potentially an emotionally scarring experience, was an absolute breeze. I believe that composting our humanure, could reverse so many problems and help Mother Nature start to heal the significant damage we've done and are still doing to this earth. As I'm currently preparing a university essay on humanure composting, I've noticed and realized that most of the scientific papers out there reference Joseph Jenkins' work. I'm super grateful for the depth, courage, and authenticity of his publications and his efforts to help humanity change. It has forever changed me.
  • Clifton Korslund
    May 30, 2021, 11:39 AM
    The humanure handbook is a good educational read but I could have done without the global warming propaganda book they sent along with it.